In the Name of Allah, The Most Gracious, Ever Merciful.

Love for All, Hatred for None.

Browse Al Islam

A Brief History of Ahmadiyya Movement In Islam

Ten Conditions of Baiat

On December 1st, 1888 he published an announcement that God has ordained him that whomsoever seeks true faith and piety, should take Baiat, pledge allegiance to him so that Allah may shower His mercy and beneficence on them.

On January 12th, 1889 he published a pamphlet in which he laid down ten conditions of Baiat for initiation into the Jamaat. In this pamphlet he made it known that anyone who wishes to enter into covenant of allegiance should swear on the following from the core of his heart.

  1. That till the last day of his life, he shall abstain from shirk (associating any partners with Allah).
  2. That he shall keep away from falsehood, cruelty, adultery, dishonesty, disorder, rebellion and every kind of evil.
  3. That he shall offer prayers (Salat) five times daily.
  4. That he shall not inflict injury on any of Allahís creatures.
  5. That he would bear every hardship for the sake of Allah.
  6. That he shall not follow vulgar customs and guard against evil inclinations.
  7. That he shall discard pride and haughtiness, live in humility & meekness
  8. That he shall hold his faith, dignity, and the welfare of Islam dearer than his own life, wealth and children.
  9. That he shall have sympathy for all of Godís creatures, and devote his talents to their welfare.
  10. That he shall establish brotherhood with me (i.e.Ahmad), obeying me in all good things, and firmly adhere to these rules until the last breadth of his life.

Founding of Ahmadiyya Jamaat

On March 23rd, 1889 he started taking oath of allegiance at the house of a spiritual preceptor Hadhrat Sufi Ahmad Jan in the city of Ludhiana. Thus he laid the foundation of Ahmadiyya Movement in Islam. Hadhrat Hakim Maulvi Noor al-Din (RA) was the first person to have the honor of taking the first Baiat.

On the first day forty people took oath of allegiance, some of them are listed hereunder:

Hadhrat Maulvi Abdullah Sanori (RA)
Hadhrat Chaudhry Rustam Ali (RA)
Hadhrat Munshi Zafar Ahmad (RA)
Hadhrat Munshi Aroray Khan (RA)
Hadhrat Munshi Habib ar-Rahman (RA)
Hadhrat Qazi Zia al-din (RA)
Hadhrat Mir Inayat Ali (RA)