In the Name of Allah, The Most Gracious, Ever Merciful.

Love for All, Hatred for None.

Browse Al Islam

The Online Salät Guide

Learn Salät

Salät is the Muslim form of formal worship. Muslims offer Salät five times a day. This page helps you learn how to offer Salät. Various parts of salät are given below. Click the name of the part to go there. Below is a list of offerings from this page.

A formal Prayer consists of units. One unit is a rak'ah and more than one units are raka'ät. A formal Islamic Prayer is 2, 3 or 4 raka'ät depending on the time of Prayer and the kind of Prayer.

There are two sajdahs in each rak'ah. Qa'da is performed in every second rak'ah and the last rak'ah. Only tashahhud is recited in a sitting (Qa'da) which is not the last one.

The Salät Guide

View the entire chart in one page or in parts.

 Download the entire Salaat Guide in mp3 format. (7.2 Mb)

Definitions - Read this first to understand the parts of Salät.

Entire Page - View the chart in one page (long download)


  1. Definitions
  2. Adhän
  3. Iqämah
  4. Niyyah
  5. Qiyäm
    (Takbir, Thanä, Ta'awwudh, Surah Al-Fätiha, Surah Al-Ikhläs)
  6. Rukü
  7. Sajdah
  8. Qa'dah
    (Tashahhud, Durüd, Prayers from the Holy Quran)
  9. Taslïm
  10. Post-Prayer Dhikr
  11. Du'ä Qunüt

Theme, pictures and portions of the above text are taken from poster titled Salat published by Majlis Ansarullah, U.S.A., an Auxiliary of the Ahmadiyya Movement in Islam, U.S.A.

This expanded version is presented by Aisha Maryam Ahmad.




Salat Guide

___ Full Page
01. Definitions
02. Adhän
03. Iqämah
04. Niyyah
05. Qiyäm
06. Rukü

07. Sajdah
08. Qa'dah
09. Taslïm
10. Post-Prayer Dhikr
11. Du'ä Qunüt



Buy the Chart


The text to be recited in the Prayer and its transliteration are given in red.
Translation follows in blue.

Instructions and explanations are in black.