In the Name of Allah, The Most Gracious, Ever Merciful.

Muslims who believe in the Messiah,
Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad Qadiani(as)
Muslims who believe in the Messiah, Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad Qadiani (as), Love for All, Hatred for None.

Browse Al Islam


Ahl-e-Hadith – Literally means, ‘The People of Hadith.’ This is a sect of Islam which believes that the Hadith of the Holy Prophet(sa) take precedence over the Holy Quran as a primary source for theology. In general it may also refer to those who give preference to oral tradition over divine scripture.

Ameen – A term which literally means ‘so let it be’ and is used at the end of a supplication to pray that God may accept it. It is similar in meaning to ‘amen.’

Bay’at – Oath of allegiance to a religious leader; initiation at the hands of a Prophet or his Khalifah. Literally means ‘to be sold’.

Hadith – Sayings of the Holy Prophet Muhammad(sa).

Hajj – Pilgrimage to the Ka’bah, which takes place once a year. All Muslims who are able must perform the pilgrimage at least once in their lifetime as a pillar of faith.

Imam Mahdi – A title meaning ‘Guided Leader,’ given to the Reformer of the Latter Days prophesied by the Holy Prophet Muhammad(sa).

Insha’allah – Literally means, ‘If Allah wills’ and is a phrase used by Muslims as a prayer to seek blessings from Allah to accomplish any task.

Jizyah – A tax paid in lieu of military service by non-Muslims living in a Muslim State in return for which non-Muslim citizens were guaranteed protection from external and internal aggression.

Khalifah – Caliph is derived from the Arabic word Khalifah, which means ‘successor’. In Islamic terminology, the word righteous Khalifah is applied to one of the four Khulafa who continued the mission of the Holy Prophet Muhammad(sa), the Holy Prophet of Islam. Ahmadi Muslims refer to a successor of the Promised Messiah(as) as Khalifatul-Masih. Khulafa is the plural of Khalifah.

Khatam-ul-Anbiya – The Seal of the Prophets, a title accorded to the Holy Prophet Muhammad(sa).

Khatam-ul-Khulafa – Literally means the Seal of the Khulafa.

Khatm-e-Nubuwwat – Refers to the lofty status granted to the Holy Prophet(sa) and means ‘Seal of Prophethood’. In other words, it infers that all the qualities and attributes of prophethood have reached their final point of perfection in the person of the Prophet Muhammad(sa).

Khula – The legal right endowed to a woman in the Islamic Shariah to seek a divorce.

Mahram – Mahram is a term in Islamic jurisprudence which refers to such men or women with whom marriage is impermissible.

Mi’raj – A spiritual experience of the Prophet Muhammad(sa) where he ascended into the heavens.

Nabi – Literally means ‘Prophet’ and is a term used in the Holy Quran to refer to someone who receives abundant news of the unseen from God.

Qawwali – A style of music employed by certain Sufi sects within Islam as a form of devotion and worship.

Rak’at – One cycle in the formal prayer observed by Muslims, which consists of standing and bowing positions as well as prostration.

Sunnah – Practice of the Holy Prophet(sa).

Surah – A chapter of the Holy Quran

Zakat – The fourth pillar in Islam known as obligatory almsgiving, which constitutes the social support system in Islam for the distribution of wealth. The poor and needy are provided for by the contributions of the rich and affluent. Literally means, ‘increase’ or ‘purification.’