In the Name of Allah, The Most Gracious, Ever Merciful.

Love for All, Hatred for None.

Browse Al Islam

Children's Corner: Muslims not Mohammadans

Rashid Ahmad Chaudhri
Golden Deeds of Muslim: Children Series No. 3 (1975)

The religion preached and practised by Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him), is known as Islam not Mohammadanism, as some of the Western writers have called it. This name 'Islam' was given to this religion by God Himself. We read in the Holy Quran, "This day, I have perfected for you, your religion, and completed My favour on you and chosen for you Islam as a religion." (5:3)

There is no other religion which can claim that its name was given by God. It is the followers of each religion, who selected its name. The verse of the Holy Quran quoted above also tells us that Islam is a perfect religion.

'Islam' is an Arabic word which means 'peace'. It also means complete submission, i.e. complete submission to the Will of God. Hence peace with God and peace with fellow-beings, and submission to God, is the essence of Islam.

Those who accept Islam as their faith are Muslims, which would mean peaceful and submissive people. A Muslim, therefore, in submission to the Will of God, has to devote his life in establishing peace on earth.

A Muslim believes in:

Belief or faith is called 'Iman'. One who believes is therefore a Momin (Believer). The words 'Muslim' or 'Momin' convey the same meaning.

Islam is a great bounty of God. It is a blessing not only for Muslims but for the whole of mankind. It safeguards men against all social evils.

Drugs, liquor and all other intoxicants are totally forbidden in Islam. Gambling is not allowed. Eating of the flesh of swine is not permitted. All these are harmful to us and to society. The lending of money on interest is also forbidden as it tends to accumulate wealth within a narrow circle and is otherwise harmful in its effects.

Islamic doctrine has five aspects which are known as the five pillars of Islam. They are as follows:

  1. Kalima -- To bear witness that God is one and Muhammad is His Messenger.
  2. Salat -- To say five daily prayers at their appointed times.
  3. Fasting -- To observe fast during the month of Ramadhan.
  4. Zakat -- To contribute a certain percentage of wealth for charity.
  5. Haj -- To go for pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in one's life-time if physically and financially possible.


  1. What is the name of the religion brought by Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him)?

  2. Who gave the name to this religion?

  3. What does the word 'Muslim' mean?

  4. Name the five pillars of Islam and explain each of them.